A Strange Hymn by Laura Thalassa (The Bargainer #2)

A strange hymn - laura thalassa

Title: A Strange Hymn
Series: The Bargainer #2
Author: Laura Thalassa
Genre: Fantasy Romance
Age Rating: 18+
Spice Level: 4 of 5
Published: May 27, 2017
Format: eBook – Kindle Unlimited
Pages: 390
Reread: Thrice

A Strange Hymn Book Review

A Strange Hymn by Laura Thalassa is the second book in the delicious ‘The Bargainer’ series. It is just as good (if not better) than Rhapsodic! The story picks up where Rhapsodic left off, so if you haven’t read the series, beware of the spoilers ahead!

The first book was all about building the romance between Callie and Des, and their past. And in A Strange Hymn, we get to see more of the fae world and the characters we fell in love with in.

Now that Callie and Des have fought the main conflict that tore them apart, it’s time for them to solve the mystery of the Thief of Souls in the otherworld, to get to know one another better, and for us to explore the mysterious otherworld.

There are a lot of romantic moments sprinkled here and there by our sneaky fae king amidst the suspense, which was my most favorite bit in this book.

I think Laura’s done the best in building in this series from character development to expanding on the fae world systematically.

We are lovers and old friends and strangers all at once.

With Callie’s wings revealed, she can’t return to Earth and is therefore stuck in the Night World with Des. Battling the trauma she faced in the Fauna Kingdom, she’s struggling to be the badass bitch again. 

Des does his best to support her. He loves her and has always protected her, and he won’t fail again. Together, they help build Callie up again. 

They also have a lot going on, in terms of finding out the Thief of Soul and navigating the politics of the fae world. The plot and the world unravel chapter by chapter, and it’s addicting. Laura’s writing immerses you in the world. 

It’s a strange sensation, letting someone you trust see you bare. It’s frightening and exhilarating all at once.

Callie’s a lot stronger in this book. After having faced the things she did, she’s fighting to be the bad guys’ nightmare. With Des pushing her to train every day and his faith in her holding up, she surely but steadily grows into this bold character. 

What I loved was Des supporting her throughout, and letting her do her thing, make her decisions, voice her thoughts, and take actions, which helped her build her confidence. 

Callie’s ensured that no fae can take her for a silly human.

“You were everything I never knew I wanted. You were chaos. You were desperation. You were the most mysterious secret I’d ever come across.”

Des, hands down, is one of the best book boyfriends (I know, I know, I say that for all the guys on this website). He had stolen my heart in the first book, and he managed to keep it in this one. 

He opens up a lot in this one, taking Callie to explore the nooks and corners of his castle and his kingdom, all the little snippets making him endearing. 

Even though he is the King of the Night and is used to not answering to anyone, he is earnest in his love, he is protective and possessive of her. 

“I would steal the stars from the sky for you,” he whispers into my ear. “Anything to hear you laugh like that.”

Although the romance does take center stage, there’s a healthy mix of world and plot development, making it a perfect package. 

If you love Fantasy Romance with Faeries and you loved A Strange Hymn by Laura Thalassa, I definitely recommend continuing with the third book. (Spoiler Alert: It’s amazing)

What are the trigger warnings in A Strange Hymn?

Explicit Scenes, Swearing, Mention of SA on the heroine (Off-Page)

The Bargainer Series Reading Order

The Bargainer series is complete. There are three full-length novels and one novella. The reading order is as follows:

  1. Book 1: Rhapsodic
  2. Book 2: A Strange Hymn
  3. Book 2.5: The Emperor of Evening Stars (Desmond’s POV)
  4. Book 3: Dark Harmony

A Strange Hymn Synopsis

From bestselling indie author Laura Thalassa comes the newly revised and edited second book in her smash-hit dark fantasy romance between a siren and the “bargainer” she owes countless favors to.

She survived the mad king…but the nightmare isn’t over.

Siren Callypso Lillis still wears the physical reminders of her time as Karnon’s captive, even after reuniting with soulmate Desmond Flynn, the King of Night. Not only that, but mounting evidence suggests the Thief of Souls, the being responsible for the disappearance of countless fae warriors, is still out there.

Invited to an annual Solstice celebration, Callie and Des journey to the Kingdom of Flora to continue their investigation. But under the bright lights and striking blooms of the realm, new complications arise, ones that no amount of bargaining can undo. Soldiers begin to go missing from the gathering, and some of the fae begin to suspect Des is the man behind it all. To Callie, one thing is no one is who they appear to be. Not even her soulmate.

Fairies play dangerous games. Some want love, some want vengeance, some want flesh, and some want horrors too unspeakable to name. Something is stirring in the Land of All that Grows, and if Callie isn’t careful, it will claim everything she loves—and her along with it.

Purchase Links

Find it on Goodreads:

About Laura Thalassa:

Found in the forest when she was young, Laura Thalassa was raised by fairies, kidnapped by werewolves, and given over to vampires as repayment for a hundred year debt. She’s been brought back to life twice, and, with a single kiss, she woke her true love from eternal sleep. She now lives happily ever after with her undead prince in a castle in the woods.

… or something like that anyway.

When not writing, Laura can be found scarfing down guacamole, hoarding chocolate for the apocalypse, or curled up on the couch with a good book.

Other Books in The Bargainer series...

Scroll to Top